NOTE: The Subcity Central ARG has officially been completed. It was produced
by Virtuquest (see their press
release), and the unforum endgame
thread
recorded and discussed the last days of the
game.
This document is incomplete and out of date. For now, the
unforum should be
considered the authoritative source of information.
This is the trail for the Subcity Central ARG, which is
currently playing. Credit for the information below comes mostly from the good
people on the Subcity
Central forum at
unfiction.com. If you’re playing, feel free to
register, edit this page, and add new information!
The “subjecte” detained by OMM after “several violations of community and omm
laws.” Currently in “hold status,” due for release on August 14. Other links:
A ghostly head directs you to MAKE YOUR STATEMENT TO OMM THEN PRESS REPLY.
(The title of the page is 211345 – another phone number?) Pressing the Reply but
ton takes you to…
Empty page. The source contains this tag and comment:
<creaTEd BY OMM FOR THE CoMMUnITY OF OMM>
<!--
THE INFORMATION iN THIS ELECTRONIC LABYRINTH IS
FOR COMMUnITY MEMBeRS ONLY. ANY VIeWERS NOT REGISTEREd
WITh THE OFFICIAL STATe ARE IN VIOLATION OF OMM. IF
YOU ARE FOUND GUIlTY OF VIEWING INFORMATION FROM THE STATE
WITHOUT MEMBERSHIp YOU WILL BE RECYCLED.
WORK HARD; INCREAsE PRODUCTION; PREVeNT ACCIDENTS, AnD
BE HAPPY.
-->
Note the lower-case letters; they spell out:
read on i need help sen
The page is titled “Non-Omm Generated Information.”
Finally, the site has a custom 404 page. If you go to a nonexistent page (e.g.
http://sen5241.net/asdf), it tells you that you don’t
have “authority” to access the page. However, if you go to a directory (e.g.
http://www.sen5241.net/audio/), it has a
different page. It says THIS AREA IS NOT AVAILABLE, but more importantly, it
has another phone number, 563884.
Web design (and audio?) house that wrote the script that plays the sounds on
http://sen5241.net/ . Strangely, the script points to
http://tri9842.net/ , which doesn’t exist. The domain
itself isn’t even registered…maybe this name will be useful later? The script
itself is http://sen5241.net/sscsubjecte.js
. The script also contains an obscure 17-digit string: 768U-983IJ7-25RE-RYG.
The string’s format is similar to GUIDs (globally unique identifiers) used in
Windows.
Similar to statewellness.net. Has the same quote and a picture of a police
officer with a baton (?). Also has the same malformed html, but this doesn’t
confirm that it’s meaningful, since page source was just copy-and-pasted.
subcitycentral trail
NOTE: The Subcity Central ARG has officially been completed. It was produced by Virtuquest (see their press release), and the unforum endgame thread recorded and discussed the last days of the game.
This document is incomplete and out of date. For now, the unforum should be considered the authoritative source of information.
-Ryan
This is the trail for the Subcity Central ARG, which is currently playing. Credit for the information below comes mostly from the good people on the Subcity Central forum at unfiction.com. If you’re playing, feel free to register, edit this page, and add new information!
FAQs:
What’s an ARG?
What’s a trail?
What’s THX-1138?
The Trail
The “subjecte” detained by OMM after “several violations of community and omm laws.” Currently in “hold status,” due for release on August 14. Other links:
http://sen5241.net/sccinfo.html
Information about the “Subcitycentral State.” Gives the Subcitycentral office phone number (?), 581-814.
http://sen5241.net/filestore.html
Sen5241′s file storage. Currently shows an error:
Gives another phone number (?) to call for assistance; 573-239.
http://sen5241.net/subinfo.html
Subjecte information for Sen. Currently says,
Has the same phone number as the file storage page.
http://sen5241.net/percom.html
Sen’s personal log. Currently says,
Has the same phone number as the file storage page.
http://sen5241.net/omminter.html
A ghostly head directs you to MAKE YOUR STATEMENT TO OMM THEN PRESS REPLY. (The title of the page is 211345 – another phone number?) Pressing the Reply but ton takes you to…
http://sen5241.net/ommsession.html
Same as above, except with a link to omm.js, which is the same as sscsubjecte.js, except with a new person’s name:
Audio files:
http://sen5241.net/audio/iunderst.wav
http://sen5241.net/audio/verygood.wav
http://sen5241.net/audio/proceed.wav
http://sen5241.net/audio/yesfine2.wav
http://sen5241.net/audio/specific.wav
http://sen5241.net/audio/truebeli.wav
http://sen5241.net/audio/5241sen.wav
http://sen5241.net/audio/yes2.wav
http://sen5241.net/audio/deny.wav
http://sen5241.net/audio/voices.wav
http://sen5241.net/audio/voices2.wav
http://sen5241.net/audio/voices3.wav http://sen5241.net/truth.html
Empty page. The source contains this tag and comment:
Note the lower-case letters; they spell out:
The page is titled “Non-Omm Generated Information.”
Finally, the site has a custom 404 page. If you go to a nonexistent page (e.g. http://sen5241.net/asdf), it tells you that you don’t have “authority” to access the page. However, if you go to a directory (e.g. http://www.sen5241.net/audio/), it has a different page. It says THIS AREA IS NOT AVAILABLE, but more importantly, it has another phone number, 563884.
Web design (and audio?) house that wrote the script that plays the sounds on http://sen5241.net/ . Strangely, the script points to http://tri9842.net/ , which doesn’t exist. The domain itself isn’t even registered…maybe this name will be useful later? The script itself is http://sen5241.net/sscsubjecte.js . The script also contains an obscure 17-digit string: 768U-983IJ7-25RE-RYG. The string’s format is similar to GUIDs (globally unique identifiers) used in Windows.
Currently empty. Just a picture of a bottle of pills (red, blue, white, yellow) and:
One interesting thing…at the end of the page, there’s some malformed HTML:
The error is just big enough that it might not be a typo…but what could it mean?
Similar to statewellness.net. Has the same quote and a picture of a police officer with a baton (?). Also has the same malformed html, but this doesn’t confirm that it’s meaningful, since page source was just copy-and-pasted.